Manchester United duo Cristiano Ronaldo and Bruno Fernandes miss Ballon d’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo and Bruno Fernandes were Manchester United’s only representatives for the 2021 Ballon d’Or.

Ronaldo placed sixth and Fernandes placed 21st in the award while Lionel Messi took the honor for the seventh time.

Ronaldo has won five Ballon d’Ors in his career and only Paris Saint-Germain’s Messi had won more with six before tonight, but the former Barcelona star has now extended his lead over Ronaldo for the prestigious personal honor .

With Ronaldo, 36, firmly in the fall of his career, there were doubts about his effectiveness in the Premier League, however, he has since adamantly silenced those criticisms this season by scoring 10 goals in 16 games in all competitions. .

We want your point of view, Reds. You can get even more involved in our Man United coverage by signing up. This will unlock a whole host of things, including joining the comments and participating in our special Q&A, where you can speak directly to our reporters about what’s happening at Old Trafford this week and beyond.

Click here to begin.

The striker was the bright spark in an otherwise disappointing campaign for United and he scored decisive goals.

Although Fernandes has always been United’s best player since joining Sporting Libson in January last year, the midfielder has underperformed for his high standards this quarter, although he is not the only player of the club to be guilty of it.

His ranking of 21st in the Ballon d’Or standings is probably a fair reflection of his quality over the past calendar year.

Robert Lewandowski finished second for the award while Mohamed Salah finished third in the vote.

Complete classification of the Ballon d’Or

1) Lionel Messi

2) Robert Lewandowski

3) Jorginho

4) Karim Benzema

5) N’Golo Kanté

6) Cristiano Ronaldo

7) Mohamed Salah

8) Kevin De Bruyne

9) Kylian Mbappé

10) Gianluigi Donnarumma

11) Erling Haaland

12) Romelu Lukaku

13) Giorgio Chiellini

14) Léonard Bonucci

15) Raheem Sterling

16) Neymar

17) Luis Suárez

18) Simon Kjaer

19) Mount mason

20) Riyad Mahrez

21) Bruno Fernandes

22) Lautaro Martinez

23) Harry Kane

24) Pedro

25) Phil Foden

= 26) Nicolo Barella, Ruben Dias and Gérard Moreno

= 29) Luka Modric and César Azpilicueta

Previous Pep Guardiola: Manchester City passed West Ham United's severe test | Premier League | NBC Sports - Oakland News Now
Next Aston Villa vs Manchester City prediction and odds: defenses could dominate in Villa Park clash